Love Stole The Words Right Out Of My Mouth | The Romantics | ARC Review

Monday, October 3, 2016


Paper Bindings | Love Stole The Words Right Out Of My Mouth | The Romantics | ARC Review | TITLE: The Romantics AUTHOR: Leah Konen RELEASE DATE: November 1st 2016 PUBLISHER: Amulet Books ★★★
TITLE: The Romantics
AUTHOR: Leah Konen
RELEASE DATE: November 1st 2016
PUBLISHER: Amulet Books
add to goodreads

“Perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rainbow Rowell, The Romantics will charm readers of all ages. Gael Brennan is about to have his heart broken when his first big relationship crumbles on the heels of his parents’ painful separation. Love intervenes with the intention of setting things right—but she doesn’t anticipate the intrusion of her dreaded nemesis: the Rebound. Love’s plans for Gael are sidetracked by Cara, Gael’s hot-sauce-wielding “dream girl.” The more Love meddles, the further Gael drifts from the one girl who can help him mend his heart. Soon Love starts breaking all her own rules—and in order to set Gael’s fate back on course, she has to make some tough decisions about what it means to truly care.”




I found The Romantics by Leah Konen to be:


  • Cute 
  • Average

When I saw The Romantics on NetGalley, I was intrigued.


A book with Love, as a character, actively trying to help a male protagonist find his true love? Yes, please. After a string of bad reading luck when it came to ARCs, I didn’t expect much when I started reading The Romantics.

Right from the start, The Romantics was interesting.


Love was definitely my favorite character in the novel. She was like this ever present entity who would occasionally pause time while a story was being told to add in a comment here and there. From the moment her comment mirrored mine, I anxiously awaited Love's sporadic and often snarky interludes to the “present” situation.

The Romantics primarily followed Gael as he made blunder after blunder and strayed from the romantic path Love wanted him on. But since Love’s own actions were primarily to blame, the reader got several scenes of the other characters because love felt we needed to see them to understand the situation better. The whole thing made it feel like Love was telling the story of Gael's misadventures in love directly to us directly.

But as cute as The Romantics was while I was reading it, I don’t think it was the type of book to stand out in a crowded library.


The plot was really straight forwarded, and simple. Almost in a young adult book geared for a much younger audience kind of way, not entirely. It didn't help that the book was extremely predictable.

The characters all had their obvious roles to play. You knew who the BFF was, you knew who the ex-girlfriend was, you knew you the false love was, and you knew who the “true” love was without having to figure anything out. And because you knew what their roles were, there was never a moment where you couldn’t predict their actions.

Some of the characters were more fleshed out than others. And some of them only were the role they played, the reader didn’t get to see any hidden depths to them. It was hard to imagine nearly all of them as real people.


Overall


Overall, The Romantics was a fast, easy to read book. I think a younger YA audience would definitely appreciate this book more than I think most older teenagers or adults would.

I did love the fact that The Romantics wasn't all about romantic love. Sure that was the primary one we encountered, but there was also family love and friendly love.


Quotations


"Inspirational shit works a lot better, he mused, when your whole life isn't already ruined." (20%)

"Humans are experts at focusing so much on how they found someone over who that person is and if they're truly the right one." (21%)

"What can I say? Sometimes the best grand gestures of love don't have anything to do with romance at all." (57%)


No Comments Yet, Leave Yours!

Thank you for visiting and taking the time to sharing your thoughts with us.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...