The Time They Let Me Chase Drones Across The Sky - Breaking Sky (Review)

Monday, January 18, 2016


Breaking Sky by Cori McCarthy

TITLE: Breaking Sky
AUTHOR: Cori McCarthy
RELEASE DATE: February 2, 2016 (paperback)
Original release: March 10th, 2016
PUBLISHER: Sourcebooks Fire
add to goodreads

“She lives for speed. She'll die for love.

A high-flying, adrenaline-fueled thriller for fans of Divergent and The Young Elites. "Breaking Sky is an action-packed thrill ride." --Carrie Jones, New York Times bestselling author of the Need series.

Chase Harcourt, call sign "Nyx," isn't one to play it safe. America is locked in a cold war -- and the country's best hope is the elite teen fighter pilots of the United Star Academy. Chase is one of only two daredevil pilots chosen to fly an experimental "Streaker" jet. But few know the pain and loneliness of her past. All anyone cares about is that Chase aces the upcoming Streaker trials, proving the prototype jet can knock the enemy out of the sky.

But as the world tilts toward war, Chase cracks open a military secret. There's a third Streaker, whose young hotshot pilot, Tristan, can match her on the ground and in the clouds. Chase doesn't play well with others. But to save her country, she may just have to put her life in the hands of the competition.”




RELATED: You Were Here


My dream job has always been to be a star ship captain. My slightly more realistic, but no less improbable second choice was to fly fighter planes. Which, if you know me, is completely ridiculous and so far-fetched that even my imagination laughs at me. 

Never the less there is something about being a pilot that has captivated me from an early age, which is why I was so excited to be approved for Breaking Sky on NetGalley.

"More military secrets like *edited out*- except this time Chase was on the side of those who knew. It was a slight shock to realize that knowing wasn't any better or easy. Secrets were still secrets." (30%)

How do you get a bunch of kids into the pilot seats of some super expensive, super-secret, experimental fighter jets? 

You make it a dystopian. Essentially, the Ri Xiong Di has taken over most of the world, and forced America into a position of extreme isolation. But America was by no means the only country that was suffering. 

Teenagers were chosen for the Streaker program because they were young, healthy, and fit. Something about their youth made them quicker to respond to stimuli. I honestly have no idea how truthful or scientific these claims are, but the way everything was presented in the book, made the logic surrounding this choice sound believable. 

"'I'm wrong all the time. I'm just usually too fast for people to notice.' She meant in the sky, but the sentence found a different meaning. Chase was too fast on the ground. Too fast with people. But then, slowing down left you vulnerable." (52%)

Chase 'Nyx' was an interesting girl. 

She lived her life with a pair of emotional blinders on. When the going got real, Chase got gone. Which makes her sound like your typical YA heroine with messed up/absent parents. But I think Cori McCarthy did a great job at making her relatable, regardless of your own age, all while still allowing her to be a teenager despite the fact she was playing an all too deadly war game.

"If they were mirrored souls, one of them was broken. But which one? Or were they a complementing pair of cracks? Maybe they always had been." (63%)

The rest of the crew was no less interesting.

Pippin, Sylph, Riot, Arrow, and Romeo were just as real as Chase. If I had to pick a dysfunctional but there for you crew to fly with, well things would never be boring if I flew with them.

At first glance, each one of them appears to occupy a certain young adult novel stereotype. We have a socially awkward genius, the resident mean girl, the not so smart love interest, the smooth talker-too good to be true love interest, and our comic relief flirt. But as we got to know them, they became less of a stereotype and more real people. 

Arrow and Nyx were cute together.

I'll ship them. I think what I liked most about this particular pair, was that it wasn't so much about swoon and attraction (though that was there too) as it was about trust. 

Not only did they understand each, but they actually had a real relationship with each other. They could talk, and spend time together, just to be together. They had that connection where they just understood why the other one thought/felt a certain way without having to ask because they paid attention. Which was sort of refreshing compared to a lot of YA novels I've read lately.

"'You're...you're really going to let me try?' 'No one so determined fails.'" (94%)

However, I did have a couple issues with the novel.

There were a few times I had to question how much power these kids ended up having. Sure, they were not in charge and make no big, official decisions about the possible upcoming war. But they got away with a lot. Like should have been stripped of their wings and court marshaled, a lot. Which made me want to second guess my earlier thoughts about how believable it was to have these young kids be highly important pilots.

Overall


Overall, I rather enjoyed Breaking Sky. The story was interesting, and entertaining. It didn't take much for the characters to grow on me. By time the last page came around, I laughed and cried so much with them, it was almost as if I was there with them.

2 comments:

  1. This sounds great! It doesn't sound like a cliched dystopia - I'll definitely have to check it out!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It wasn't really your typical dystopian because we got to focus on them and the flying. Which I thought made the book much better and more interesting. Hope you enjoy it! Thank you for stopping by.

      Delete

Thank you for visiting and taking the time to sharing your thoughts with us.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...