Rules of Seduction (ARC review)

Thursday, October 8, 2015



Title: Rules of Seduction
Author: Jenna Mullins
Release Date: April 21, 2015
Publisher: The Studio, a Paper Lantern Lit import
Source: NetGalley
Synopsis:
“The first rule of seduction is: don’t fall in love.

Fresh out of college, Dani Young heads for the LA sun to chase her dream of becoming a screenwriter-director. So when her former BFF turned actress Elise offers Dani the opportunity to work on the hit teen show Vamp Camp, Dani can’t refuse, even if it comes at a price: Elise wants Dani to seduce her boyfriend, Vamp Camp superstar Tate Lawrence. Turns out Elise has some major trust issues, and needs Dani to test Tate’s faith. The only rule: don’t fall in love with him.

Sure, Dani doesn’t mind occasionally glimpsing Tate’s megawatt smile…or accidentally-on-purpose brushing up against his perfect torso…but she’s no fool. There’s no way she’d ever fall for a shallow celebrity and no way one would fall for her, a lanky movie nerd.

But amidst vampire-crazed fans, a conniving fellow intern, and a devilishly handsome showrunner, Dani feels like all the rules she used to know have disappeared, except for one: Love doesn’t play by the rules.

Part The Devil Wears Prada, part How To Lose a Guy in Ten Days, this story of friendship and romance is sure to appeal to fans of Stephanie Perkins, Jennifer E. Smith, and Anna Todd.”





My Review

Rules of Seduction was a cute, quick read about a mid-western girl, Dani, who goes to Los Angeles to jump start her dream of working in television. Almost immediately she runs into her old best friend, Elise, (a little to conveniently) who sets her up with a job on a hit CW type vampire show - with one catch - she has to seduce her friend's boyfriend (also star of said hit vampire show) to see if he is someone Elise can trust. For me, this story line was not my favorite. I enjoyed the starting a new job, making new friends, moving to a new place, and seeing the behind the scenes aspects of television work story lines much better. I also loved Tate and Dani's roommate. Mullins did a good job of showing the difference between who someone really is and what their public persona is.

Words To Live By


"Before I throw myself further down the spiral of self-pity, it's time to act."


"...This is your life... Don't be afraid to live it."


"I don't have the heart to tell her that I'm not even sure what kind of life I want to live."


"Find a person who wants to share your life, not a person who wants to become your life."


"That's not a real relationship, is it? It's not something I can wrap my hands around and carry with me when I'm having bad moments. It's not something I can take out and see for what it is... a real connection."


Overall


All in all, it was a good read. I would recommend to anyone who wants a cute romance set in behind the scenes Hollywood.
author image

Tisha

As an INFJ Tisha doesn’t like she obsesses. Luckily, she has television, film, and books to keep her busy. Although YA is her favorite, she loves all types of books especially historical fiction. This resident Gryffindor also enjoys traveling and seeing where her wanderlusting nature will take her. Twitter

No Comments Yet, Leave Yours!

Thank you for visiting and taking the time to sharing your thoughts with us.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...